Indian women’s cricket team suffered a setback before leaving for CWG 2022, Kovid case increased difficulty

Before the start of the Commonwealth Games, India has suffered a major setback. A member of the Indian women’s cricket team has been caught by Kovid even before catching a flight to Birmingham. The Indian team has to send its first match against Australia on 29 July. The English newspaper Indian Express gave this information in its report.

Women’s cricket matches will start at Edgbaston Stadium from July 29. The bronze medal and gold medal matches will be played on August 7. Cricket has got a place in the Commonwealth Games after a long time. India has been placed in Group A in these games. Australia, Pakistan and Barbados are with them in this group. On the other hand, Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand and South Africa have been placed in Group B.

Coming back after 1998

Cricket has returned after a long time in the Commonwealth Games. Cricket got its place in 1998 for the first time in these games to be held once in four years. Then though men’s cricket was included. Then South Africa defeated Australia in the final. After this, cricket has been included again this year, but this time women’s cricket has got a place. The ODI format was played in 1998, while this time the T20 format has been included.

Expectations from Indian team

The Indian team is expected to perform well and win medals in these games. Team India recently cleaned Sri Lanka in the ODI series. Earlier, he had defeated Sri Lanka 2-1 in the three-match T20 series. Team India has been announced for these games. The command of the team is in the hands of Harmanpreet Kaur. Smriti Mandhana has been made the vice-captain of the team.

India has to play its first match against Australia which will be played on July 29 at 4:30 pm. India has to play its second match against arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday 31 July. This match will also be played at 4:30 pm. On Wednesday, August 3, the Indian team will play Barbados. This match will be played at 11:30 in the day.

Team India for Commonwealth Games- Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shefali Verma, S Meghna, Tania Bhatia (WK), Yastika Bhatia (WK), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemima Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.

Get the latest sports news updates

Similar Posts